The First Workshop on Wireless Broadband Testbeds (DEMO'98) will be held on October 15, 1998 in Berlin, Germany. The workshop will be co-located with the 5th International Workshop on Mobile Multimedia Communications, MoMuC'98. The objective of the workshop is to demonstrate operational state-of-the-art wireless broadband prototypes and testbeds, including wireless ATM systems, high speed wireless LANs and next generation cellular systems.  

As the demand for mobile broadband services grows, wireless extensions to existing broadband and Internet technologies will be required to support the delivery of voice, video and data to mobile terminals with high quality. New mobile and wireless services will include Internet access to interactive multimedia content, video conferencing and real-time data services and as well as traditional services such as voice, email and web access.  

DEMO'98 offers a unique forum for the demonstration of state-of-the-art wireless broadband prototypes. The workshop will be single-track bringing together researchers, developers and practitioners working on the development of next-generation wireless networks, services and applications. To register, use the MoMuC 98 registration form  


* to be confirmed 


Researchers are invited submit a short (3 page) outline of the system to be demonstrated. To qualify, a prototype should be capable of demonstrating multimedia services (including voice, video and data) over a broadband wireless interface. The event is intended for non-commercial systems. Presenters will have an opportunity to make a workshop presentation outlining the key design features of their system, and demonstrate their prototype in an adjoining area. Material from workshop presentations will be published as proceedings of DEMO'98.  

An outline of the system to be demonstrated should sent electronically to 

- Submission Deadline: June 8, 1998  
- Notification of Acceptance: July 12, 1998  
- Presentation material: August 14, 1998  


Andrew T. Campbell, Columbia U., US (Co-Chair) 
Hakan Mitts, Nokia Telecomm's, SE (Co-Chair) 
Naftali Chayat, BreezeCom, US 
J. Da Silva, European Commission
Cengiz Evci, ALCATEL Telecom, France
Jan Kruys, Lucent, Netherlands 
Louis-Francois Pau Ericsson Utvecklings AB, Sweden 
John Porter , ORL, UK 
D. Raychaudhuri, NEC, Princeton, US 
Masahiro Umehira , NTT, Japan 
Bharghavan Vaduvur, UIUC, US
Olle Viktorsson, Ericsson Radio Systems, SE 
Adam Wolisz, Technical U. of Berlin, Germany